2017 Writing Challenge/Introduction

Hi!

With this post, I officially launch my 2017 writing challenge. Through this, I am challenging myself to write at least one post everyday.

A few days back I read this answer on Quora and was instantly hit by realism. It felt like my recent life, word by word. I have been doing exactly what Tom did, ending with no concrete plan towards my dream even after 5 years of knowing it. But hey! Its never too late to begin. So here I am.

To start building a disciplined habit of writing, I thought a blog would be a great idea. This would help eliminate the usual excuses like, not having a pen and paper handy. Hence, wordpress.

The next important aspect was to make it anonymous. This would help me write with more freedom. I dont want the unnecessary burden of thinking about people’s judgement right now. I have another blog and have realised that I am extremely cautious these days about my posts. How is the content, am I sounding too preachy, will this offend any of my friends or relatives etc. So some anonymity for now would do me good.

And then, the most important question. Why do I need this habit? Because like Tom, I dont think I am a gifted writer. I consider myself a storyteller and I have numerous thoughts at any given point of time, like everyone else. When I talk, people listen to me. They take me seriously. But when I write, I can see my thoughts do not come across very coherently. The point is made but it could have been done so much better. Anytime I read any of my older posts, a thousand edits and improvements are staring at me right in the face. I figured, the only way to get better is practicing on a scratchpad, right? As we know, practice makes perfect!

By the way, I am not exactly a teenager. I am in my late 20s but I do think like a grandma (sometimes/most times?). The blog title is deceptive but intriguing, right?

Do invite your friends to be part of this writing challenge if you like! The more, the merrier.

Godspeed!

This entry was posted in 2017WritingChallenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

